DOSBox Static Addresses
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Try 0x1D26C0C (no guarantee here, but should work ^^)
Edit: complete nonsense, forget what I said.
Edit: complete nonsense, forget what I said.
Last edited by Marc on Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Expert Cheater
- Posts: 266
- Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
- Reputation: 86
- Dread_Pony_Roberts
- Table Makers
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 am
- Reputation: 388
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Here is a base I've found, tested it on two games (Bio Menace and Masters of Orion classic).
0x1D4A380
If this code doesn't work, I have a solution. I've found that the easiest way to find the base is to look for a pointer manually (so without pointer scanning) and pick the lowest or so static address you find on the list. It will be the largest number that isn't part of the debugger (so no "wow" addresses).
I hope this helps.
0x1D4A380
If this code doesn't work, I have a solution. I've found that the easiest way to find the base is to look for a pointer manually (so without pointer scanning) and pick the lowest or so static address you find on the list. It will be the largest number that isn't part of the debugger (so no "wow" addresses).
I hope this helps.
-
- Expert Cheater
- Posts: 266
- Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
- Reputation: 86
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Aweseome, thankyou.Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote: ↑Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:02 pmHere is a base I've found, tested it on two games (Bio Menace and Masters of Orion classic).
0x1D4A380
If this code doesn't work, I have a solution. I've found that the easiest way to find the base is to look for a pointer manually (so without pointer scanning) and pick the lowest or so static address you find on the list. It will be the largest number that isn't part of the debugger (so no "wow" addresses).
I hope this helps.
I've tested and can confirm that the base address for 0.74.2.1 is 0x1D4A380
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Ooops. My bad. I tried a Dosbox 74.2-1 game recently, had no address and tried the method from erfg12: load it in IDA and look for the Address of the DST block, got this address. So I made something wrong, but don't know what. At least this explains why I had problems with my gamedaninthemix wrote: ↑Sun Apr 07, 2019 1:48 pmNo that's not working. I get a pointer to 12B33020, but (for example) lives are stored in 11C95F72 which is earlier than your base address.
Great, thanks for sharing.Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote: ↑Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:02 pmHere is a base I've found, tested it on two games (Bio Menace and Masters of Orion classic).
0x1D4A380
- Dread_Pony_Roberts
- Table Makers
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 am
- Reputation: 388
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
I'm glad I could help.
It seems GOG is updating their DOSBox so they can use their new cloud saving on DOS games, I would check all your cheats for GOG DOS games because of it. I personally get around it because I use DOSBox Game Launcher for all my DOS games so the versions are never updated unless I want them to.
It seems GOG is updating their DOSBox so they can use their new cloud saving on DOS games, I would check all your cheats for GOG DOS games because of it. I personally get around it because I use DOSBox Game Launcher for all my DOS games so the versions are never updated unless I want them to.
-
- Expert Cheater
- Posts: 266
- Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
- Reputation: 86
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Can anyone advise the best way to find addresses that change every level? I'm talking about Syndicate Wars here (I posted a paid cheat request for it a while back) - I found all the pointers for the relevant values, they work every time I run the game, but only on the first level.
What would be a good approach to finding those values for every level? AOBscan? Do I need to go to a deeper level with my pointers?
What would be a good approach to finding those values for every level? AOBscan? Do I need to go to a deeper level with my pointers?
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
My suggestion is to either scan for a deeper pointer level or you should try to find some code which uses the addresses. Then make a code injection to copy the correct address into your own variable.daninthemix wrote: ↑Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:37 amWhat would be a good approach to finding those values for every level? AOBscan? Do I need to go to a deeper level with my pointers?
-
- Expert Cheater
- Posts: 266
- Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
- Reputation: 86
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
OK now I'm confused again. Using the current DOSBox from dosbox.com, version 0.74-2, modified date 30/08/2018 13:33.
If I manually add 0x01D1ABFC I get a pointer to 1630A020.
If I find a temp value (missiles), it's before that pointer, at 1261AC4C.
What do I do?
If I manually add 0x01D1ABFC I get a pointer to 1630A020.
If I find a temp value (missiles), it's before that pointer, at 1261AC4C.
What do I do?
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
I got 0x01D26C0C in Ida.
Problem is, I seem to be finding negative offsets when I search for the values and then they don't stay in the same place when I re-open the game. I am specifically using that version of DOSBox bundled as part of a GoG install of Master of Magic, to be specific.
So I find the address for DST with Ida, and then use that as my base pointer. Then in game I find what I need (in my case, Gold and Mana) and set up something that works while I have the game open. But as soon as I reopen the game, it falls apart. The offset has changed, so things are wrong when I reopen the table. I figure I must be doing something wrong either when I'm trying to add the VMEM base pointer or when I'm attempting to make the address relative to that pointer.
Any thoughts?
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Hmm no exact idea right out of the box. A negative offset should definitively not happen at all.
Edit: but I can feel your pain. Same problem for me with Ultima Underworld, using DosBox 0.74-2.
Genereal Workflow to create the entrys:
Marc
Edit: but I can feel your pain. Same problem for me with Ultima Underworld, using DosBox 0.74-2.
Genereal Workflow to create the entrys:
- add the VMEM Pointer
- find the current address of whatever you want to cheat in your game
- open up the windows calculator, set it to "programmer"
- copy the address of your value via clipboard into the calculator
- press minus on the calculator
- copy the address where the VMEM points to into clipboard
- paste the address into the calculator and press enter
- copy the result (the difference of the two addresses) into the clipboard
- add a new manual entry, as address enter "+" and paste the result from the calculator in
- use drag&drop to attach your manual entry indented below the VMEM pointer
- if all went right, the manuel entry now points to the same address as the result from your memory scan
Marc
Last edited by Marc on Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
When scanning dosbox with Cheat Engine, how do you limit the search area to MS-DOS conventional memory? How do you determine the conventional memory area?
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
As showed in the tuto video, with IDA, I found "1d26c0c".
___________________
I try to found some values on Albion (1995) from GoG, wich is based on DosBox 0.74.2.1 apparently...
But, there is an issue, when I restart the game, the value are not in the same place, even with "pointers"...
Hmmmm, is that why ?Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote: ↑Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:03 pmIt seems GOG is updating their DOSBox so they can use their new cloud saving on DOS games
So, you use a "personnal" version of DOSBox to launch games from GoG, if I understand correctly...Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote: ↑Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:03 pmI personally get around it because I use DOSBox Game Launcher for all my DOS games so the versions are never updated unless I want them to.
Can you be a little bit more specific, please ?
- Dread_Pony_Roberts
- Table Makers
- Posts: 525
- Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 am
- Reputation: 388
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
I should have clarified. DOSBox Game Launcher isn't a special version of DOSBox, it is just a launcher that allows you to more easily create configs and shortcuts for DOS games. The same can be accomplished by manually creating shortcuts that point to the DOSBox.exe itself and a config as shown in this example ("C:\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe" -conf "..\dosbox.conf"). You can then put the commands to launch the game in the config's "autoexec" section.
Re: DOSBox Static Addresses
Okay, so, if I get it right :
You use the standard version of Dosbox as everybody else, with configuration files made by yourself
and not those released with the GoG version of the game.
But GoG uses their own personal modified version of DosBox ?
You use the standard version of Dosbox as everybody else, with configuration files made by yourself
and not those released with the GoG version of the game.
But GoG uses their own personal modified version of DosBox ?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users