CE Not working in game

Post your topics and discussions here that you can't find a good section for.
Locked
IceWater
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:17 pm
Reputation: 0

CE Not working in game

Post by IceWater » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:28 pm

I've gone through the tutorials provided with CE and feel like I understand the mechanics pretty well, but when load RE2 and load in one of the tables provided, the cheat engine acts like nothing is there. The table clearly loads, but I cannot select 'enable' or interact with it in any fashion.

For the life of me i'm trying to figure out why this is happening.

The script loaded fine once before, but -something- changed since then and frankly I have no idea what.

https://imgur.com/a/AKqBj7l

Any help is appreciated.

zachillios
Table Makers
Table Makers
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:05 am
Reputation: 178

Re: CE Not working in game

Post by zachillios » Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:48 pm

If I had to guess, you're using a pirated version of the game, and the table is made for the retail version of the game which has been updated recently. Your copy of the game is out of date, so it doesn't work properly with the newer table versions.

IceWater
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:17 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: CE Not working in game

Post by IceWater » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:08 pm

I bought it through steam, so if it's a pirated copy count me even more confused.

Edited. It randomly started working after a computer reboot. Except now it's not letting me modify the tables. (cannot change values. Everything is locked/redded out)
Last edited by IceWater on Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zachillios
Table Makers
Table Makers
Posts: 411
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:05 am
Reputation: 178

Re: CE Not working in game

Post by zachillios » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:12 pm

IceWater wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:08 pm
I bought it through steam, so if it's a pirated copy count me even more confused. I would say that they just updated the game today might play a role in it?
If your copy of the game is official, then definitely update to the newest version. Also make sure since you do have the steam version, that you're using the most recent version of said table.

User avatar
SunBeam
Administration
Administration
Posts: 2551
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:16 pm
Reputation: 1030

Re: CE Not working in game

Post by SunBeam » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:31 pm

I just love people who are assuming stuff :D zachillios started with an assumption, then when he got busted, he thought "why, let me continue; 'still, update your game'". How about you freakin' do it properly?

All the tables I've seen use A L L O C. What this does it it allocates the memory you want to use either CLOSE or FAR from the game process. When the allocation is CLOSE, the JMP to the hook (our allocated memory) is 5 bytes long. When the allocation is FAR, the JMP to the hook eats up 14 bytes. Given almost (there are some, you know who you are; *claps*) no fuck on this forum takes that into consideration, the major ASSUMPTION here is the "JMP is always 5 bytes". And that is where you're dead wrong. If your memory at the time of running the game is clogged in a ton shit of processes, CE will not be able to find a spot close to the game process, thus will do a FAR allocation. When that happens, your "JMP hook" (which should be 5 bytes long -> E9 xx xx xx xx) becomes 14 bytes (FF 25 xx ...) and "eats" up bytes from the next instructions. In which event your game CRASHES when returning from the cave/hook.

That's why. Not cuz he's running a pirated version.

@IceWater: Please enable the script at main menu. And post in the proper section (or game's topic, in Tables section). Not in "Generic Tutorials". OK?

IceWater
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:17 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: CE Not working in game

Post by IceWater » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:42 pm

Reposted in appropriate thread

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=8539&p=79249#p79249

Thanks for help.

User avatar
SunBeam
Administration
Administration
Posts: 2551
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:16 pm
Reputation: 1030

Re: CE Not working in game

Post by SunBeam » Tue Feb 19, 2019 4:48 pm

Thank you; locking this.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users