Page 27 of 462

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:40 pm
by override367
I've done a lot of digging and tinkering with the game's files, I'm trying to make a "RAW" mod, that makes the game function more like the tabletop to see how it plays out. I've already removed all the extraneous surface creation, rebalanced firebolt, and a few other things - but one thing I absolutely cannot find is what controls height.

In 5e, there is no mechanical advantage or disadvantage from height, but in baldur's gate 3, a 5 foot or greater elevation confers a 3:1 advantage by giving low ground creatures "Disadvantage" on all rolls and high ground creatures "Advantage.

Has anyone, in their tinkering, found what controls this?

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:16 pm
by freeze
im looking for a foot/ kick animation or effect i can use. does anyone find any?

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:28 pm
by Acleacius
MardukBabylon, if your sure you have the files correct and in proper directory, did you try a new game?

Mine seems to be working, but I started a new game.

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:36 pm
by Zanzer
If you want to play around with the animations in game, you can create an Auto Assemble script for:

Code: Select all

[ENABLE]
{$lua}
if syntaxcheck then return end

local uuid = "8b8bb757-21ce-4e02-a2f3-97d55cf2f90b"

local cmdCall = getAddress("cmdCall")
local cmdAddr = getAddress("cmdAddr")
local cmdArgs = getAddress("cmdArgs")
local cmdStr1 = getAddress("cmdStr1")
writePointer(cmdAddr, getAddress("GetHostCharacter"))
executeCodeEx(0, nil, cmdCall)
writePointer(cmdAddr, getAddress("PlayAnimation"))
writePointer(cmdArgs + 0x18, cmdStr1)
writeString(cmdStr1, uuid)
writeBytes(cmdStr1 + #uuid, 0)
writeQword(cmdArgs + 0x28, 0)
executeCodeEx(0, nil, cmdCall)
{$asm}
[DISABLE]

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:53 pm
by Gothfather
freeze wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:49 pm
no comments for my fake flurry of blows?
Well three things...

1) I am just going to wait for the monk class to be released in EA before I test it.

2) not sure how your new ability isn't just given to NPCs as well.

3) You are using a tweak method that is dangerous. You can tweak a *.pak file, add it to your game (just have to follow the .pak files folder pathing.) by adding the single file loosely. This means you aren't changing the game files and if you accidently screw things up all you have to do is delete the loose file and restore the game to "factory settings" Repacking the game's data files increases the changes of totally borking your game and having to reinstall. So that is going to make people shy at trying your tweaks.

FYI to the community loose files placed in the correct folder path (you will have to add the folders manually) overRIDE *.pak files, without having to overWRITE the original files in the .pak file. Not having to repack .pak files makes tweaking saver and easier to troubleshoot, if a tweak screws things up, just delete the loose file.

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:00 pm
by freeze
Gothfather wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:53 pm
freeze wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:49 pm
no comments for my fake flurry of blows?
Well three things...

1) I am just going to wait for the monk class to be released in EA before I test it.

2) not sure how your new ability isn't just given to NPCs as well.

3) You are using a tweak method that is dangerous. You can tweak a *.pak file, add it to your game (just have to follow the .pak files folder pathing.) by adding the single file loosely. This means you aren't changing the game files and if you accidently screw things up all you have to do is delete the loose file and restore the game to "factory settings" Repacking the game's data files increases the changes of totally borking your game and having to reinstall. So that is going to make people shy at trying your tweaks.

FYI to the community loose files placed in the correct folder path (you will have to add the folders manually) overRIDE *.pak files, without having to overWRITE the original files in the .pak file. Not having to repack .pak files makes tweaking saver and easier to troubleshoot, if a tweak screws things up, just delete the loose file.
thanks for your feedback. my comments:
1) i do not think they will add anything until the official release. Larian Studios has always done that way.
2) there's this instruction: data "AIFlags" "CanNotUse" for each skill in that file. it's self explanatory.
3) i take backups of original data, and beside the potential of corrupting a savegame, i dont see really whats the problem.

can you give example for the shared.pak and the folder structure you have to put?
Thanks

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:01 pm
by freeze
Zanzer wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:36 pm
If you want to play around with the animations in game, you can create an Auto Assemble script for:

Code: Select all

[ENABLE]
{$lua}
if syntaxcheck then return end

local uuid = "8b8bb757-21ce-4e02-a2f3-97d55cf2f90b"

local cmdCall = getAddress("cmdCall")
local cmdAddr = getAddress("cmdAddr")
local cmdArgs = getAddress("cmdArgs")
local cmdStr1 = getAddress("cmdStr1")
writePointer(cmdAddr, getAddress("GetHostCharacter"))
executeCodeEx(0, nil, cmdCall)
writePointer(cmdAddr, getAddress("PlayAnimation"))
writePointer(cmdArgs + 0x18, cmdStr1)
writeString(cmdStr1, uuid)
writeBytes(cmdStr1 + #uuid, 0)
writeQword(cmdArgs + 0x28, 0)
executeCodeEx(0, nil, cmdCall)
{$asm}
[DISABLE]
Many thanks for this. Do you know where i can find other animations uuids that are not in spell_target file?
thanks

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:45 pm
by Gothfather
freeze wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:00 pm
Gothfather wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:53 pm
freeze wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 4:49 pm
no comments for my fake flurry of blows?
Well three things...

1) I am just going to wait for the monk class to be released in EA before I test it.

2) not sure how your new ability isn't just given to NPCs as well.

3) You are using a tweak method that is dangerous. You can tweak a *.pak file, add it to your game (just have to follow the .pak files folder pathing.) by adding the single file loosely. This means you aren't changing the game files and if you accidently screw things up all you have to do is delete the loose file and restore the game to "factory settings" Repacking the game's data files increases the changes of totally borking your game and having to reinstall. So that is going to make people shy at trying your tweaks.

FYI to the community loose files placed in the correct folder path (you will have to add the folders manually) overRIDE *.pak files, without having to overWRITE the original files in the .pak file. Not having to repack .pak files makes tweaking saver and easier to troubleshoot, if a tweak screws things up, just delete the loose file.
thanks for your feedback. my comments:
1) i do not think they will add anything until the official release. Larian Studios has always done that way.
2) there's this instruction: data "AIFlags" "CanNotUse" for each skill in that file. it's self explanatory.
3) i take backups of original data, and beside the potential of corrupting a savegame, i dont see really whats the problem.

can you give example for the shared.pak and the folder structure you have to put?
Thanks
1)Err the "panel from hell" has Swen specifically saying new Races, Companions classes and features will be added to early access and they added things for DOS2 in EA on a regular basis so not sure how you can say "Larian Studians has always done that way"
[Source]
2) yes but you are not specifically telling people this in your posts so people are likely saying "neat" but moving on. Not judging your work, just trying to explain why no feedback
3) Not everyone is comfortable repacking game files and it DOES increase the risk of borking your game. yes people should do backup but you should know by now how many people don't backup their work. Again people having to repack your tweak at least following your instructions would limit the number of people willing to try. Reducing feedback.

Yeah I can do that. [Going to really spell things out overly simply so people who are utterly unfamiliar with tweaking can learn the basics]

I added the players handbook racial ability for half-elves getting two skill picks to the game, by tweaking Progressions.lsx Found in the Shared.pak file.

When I unpacked shared.pak it created a folder structure for all the files in the shared.pak file. the first level is mods & public.

Progressions.lsx is a file that has a folder pathway of \Public\Shared\Progressions\Progressions.lsx

So knowing that shared.pak in located in the data folder of the game aka \Baldur's Gate 3\Data\ I know that any folder unpacked from a *.pak file starts in \Data\ In this case \Public\Shared\Progressions\Progressions.lsx So I would add public to the data folder, shared to the public folder, progressions to the shared folder. Finally placing the file Progression.lsx in the progression folder. (Again just overly simplifying things so newbies can follow not for your benefit freeze)

So any file tweaked from shared.pak will unpack with a specific pathway and you just have to add the folders to the data folder. Also once you have tweaked one file you will only have to add a folder or two for the next file. You can just cut and paste the whole unpacked file but that is a lot of game files the engine will be overRIDING that is doesn't need to that it MIGHT cause an issue and it is a waste of space. So i don't recommend doing that. This can get worse when you are unpacking multiple *.pak files.

So this is what my personal pathway to Progression.lsx looks like on my computer others will look different based on version and where you installed the game.

E:\GAMES\GOG Galaxy\Games\Baldurs Gate 3\Data\Public\Shared\Progressions\Progression.lsx

The bold are the folders i had to create manually.

Hopefully that explains what I mean to anyone new to game tweaking.

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:49 pm
by MardukBabylon
Acleacius wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:28 pm
MardukBabylon, if your sure you have the files correct and in proper directory, did you try a new game?

Mine seems to be working, but I started a new game.
I think I did. Have started multiple new games and I always get level cap reached at level 4

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:04 pm
by Gothfather
MardukBabylon wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:49 pm
Acleacius wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:28 pm
MardukBabylon, if your sure you have the files correct and in proper directory, did you try a new game?

Mine seems to be working, but I started a new game.
I think I did. Have started multiple new games and I always get level cap reached at level 4
Can you show the pathway of the files you tweaked. Just so we can double check you have them in the right locations.

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:29 pm
by MardukBabylon
Gothfather wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:04 pm
MardukBabylon wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:49 pm
Acleacius wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:28 pm
MardukBabylon, if your sure you have the files correct and in proper directory, did you try a new game?

Mine seems to be working, but I started a new game.
I think I did. Have started multiple new games and I always get level cap reached at level 4
Can you show the pathway of the files you tweaked. Just so we can double check you have them in the right locations.
D/Games/Baldurs gate 3/Data/Shared/Public/Shared/Stats/Generated/Data

I put in the file from page 12 and said yes to overwrite it when I put it in there.

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:39 pm
by freeze
Thanks GothFather for your explanations that also benefitted me, and I'm sorry if you saw no value in my work.
-----
on the topic on toying with the animations defined in spell_target.txt file, i couldn't apply to my character multiattack spell that some enemies got (bear, automatons etc). there's simply no animations happening.

Stringing animations seems to work with ":" and can produce funny results, like extremely fast punches multiple times.
for example swinged right punch immediately following by a fast right jab then a left swing:

Code: Select all

f4ac302b-1569-404f-bd52-1fe443e265df(CMBT_Melee_RHand_Combat_01_Attack):
f4ac302b-1569-404f-bd52-1fe443e265df(CMBT_Melee_RHand_Combat_01_Attack):
722df2d7-7898-4b0b-b930-5a850b55ccf0(CMBT_Melee_LHand_Combat_01_Attack)
I couldn't find any kick animation anywhere though :cry:
anyone know where those animations are stored up in?

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:10 pm
by Tiffany
You don't have to repack the edits to game files, just unpack. You just create the file structure and use the loose files in there. If there's an update or something it'd be easy enough to just remove them from there and redo the changes with the new files.

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:02 pm
by rhoen
Do you guys think that we could make our own custom class if we were to copy and paste bits and bobs from the Progressions.lsx ?

Maybe we could cut Say warlock or ranger as a base and then copy and paste feature benefits from other classes, anyone think that'd work?

Because if so I might take a crack at making a Gestalt character and post it

Re: z Baldur's Gate 3

Posted: Sun Oct 18, 2020 11:04 pm
by Gothfather
MardukBabylon wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:29 pm
Gothfather wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:04 pm
MardukBabylon wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 8:49 pm


I think I did. Have started multiple new games and I always get level cap reached at level 4
Can you show the pathway of the files you tweaked. Just so we can double check you have them in the right locations.
D/Games/Baldurs gate 3/Data/Shared/Public/Shared/Stats/Generated/Data

I put in the file from page 12 and said yes to overwrite it when I put it in there.
okay i think I see the problem.

Your folder structure should look as follows.

\Baldurs Gate 3\Data\Public\Shared\Stats\Generated\Data\

Solution

1)Go to \Baldurs Gate 3\Data\ and create a new folder naming it public.
2) Enter Public and create a new folder named Shared
3) Enter shared and create a new folder named Stats
4)Enter Stats and create a new folder named Generated
5)Enter Generated and create new folder name Data
6) Copy and paste the file you want to Data.

Yes it is a hassle to manually add in all those folders but you only need the files you changed to be added to your game.

Try it and it should work.

The first shared folder is the problem. That shared folder was likely the created from the unpacked shared.pak. Also you should probably not use all the files from shared.pak as you are telling the engine to override ALL the files in Shared.pak at the same time and that could lead to problem as that is a LOT of unnecessary work for the engine.