Help with AOBscan for portability

Anything Cheat Engine related, bugs, suggestions, helping others, etc..
gibberishh
Table Makers
Table Makers

Help with AOBscan for portability

Post by gibberishh »

Good ladies and gentlemen of the internet,

I come to thee with 2 problems I would like help with. As a quest giver, I promise loads of experience and no gold. My backstory is an interesting one. Gather around, children, and I will tell you of my troubles:

I use aobscanmodule extensively. I'm fairly new to assembly, cheat engine and lua, but I consider myself to be a pretty good programmer (other languages) in general. I started learning the code flow by modifying scripts of others. Having seen the various coding styles of define(address, bytes), aobscan and aobscanmodule, I have concluded that aobscanmodule is the best for me because it provides maximum flexibility while not having the potential heavy load of aobscan.

A lot of the initial scripts I learnt from were of the type:

Code: Select all

[ENABLE]
aobscanmodule(placeholder,App.exe,89 87 ?? ?? EF ?? 89)
code:
  mov eax,[ecx+02EFAC01]
[DISABLE]
placeholder:
  db 89 87 01 AC EF 02
So I thought to myself, what is the point of using wildcards in the scan, if the disable script is hard-coded? I asked high-lord Google for an answer and found [Link], which taught me readmem() so that I could simply have the code inject what it scanned in the first place. Success.

So far so good. Now my problems:

1. I wish to find a way to store "App.exe" in a global variable (let's call it procname) so that I can use aobscanmodule(placeholder,procname,...). This way, I have to specify the exe name in only one place and if the exe ever changes, all scripts don't need to be updated. Or, even better, I would like to extract the name of the process currently attached to cheat engine and use that within aobscanmodule. Is either of these possible? If so, pray tell me how.