Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Memory scanning, code injection, debugger internals and other gamemodding related discussion
Sigan
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 1:23 am
Reputation: 124

Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Sigan »

I'm usually pretty decent at writing cheats for unity games, but when I get outside that engine things get harder for me. Is there any videos or tutorials that someone can point me to that will help me hack a game like Hero's Hour?

Searching gold, for instance, returns results under the double type, but nothing else. However, you can't change these values. When finding what writes to this value, it's always a very general code that is used for a multitude of other things. Even worse, since it's not a value that can actually change the value in game, I'm really at a loss. I can't find anything under 4-byte, 8-byte, or float either.

If you make a table for it, that'd be great, but I'd appreciate education on this much more. Thank you.

User avatar
LeFiXER
LeFixer
LeFixer
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 9:35 am
Reputation: 242

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by LeFiXER »

Try searching for a range of values near the gold amount for example, say you have 1000 gold, search between 900 and 1100 setting the data type to all. In this case, I found it for Hero's Hour really quickly. It is a double value type. Upon starting the game search the range and you can change the value as you see fit.

Sigan
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 1:23 am
Reputation: 124

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Sigan »

Interesting... I'll try that. I'm more interested in finding a way to script infinite gold in, for instance. Finding a good injection point in this game is confusing

Sigan
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 1:23 am
Reputation: 124

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Sigan »

Ok, that didn't help.

User avatar
LeFiXER
LeFixer
LeFixer
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 9:35 am
Reputation: 242

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by LeFiXER »

Sigan wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:25 pm
Interesting... I'll try that. I'm more interested in finding a way to script infinite gold in, for instance. Finding a good injection point in this game is confusing
It's because it's a game made with Game Maker Studio, aSwedishMagyar provided a handy tool for games that were made with this engine.
Sigan wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 9:36 pm
Ok, that didn't help.


I had no issue finding the values and manipulating them with just plain value editing.

Sigan
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 1:23 am
Reputation: 124

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Sigan »

LeFiXER wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 10:07 pm
It's because it's a game made with Game Maker Studio, aSwedishMagyar provided a handy tool for games that were made with this engine.
Maybe I can look for that... thanks. I didn't know what the engine was.
LeFiXER wrote:
Mon Oct 04, 2021 10:07 pm
I had no issue finding the values and manipulating them with just plain value editing.
Well, it didn't work for me. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, since I followed your direction exactly....

User avatar
Lord Blade
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am
Reputation: 131

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Lord Blade »

I've not had any luck finding values for this game either. I'm not good for much beyond doing basic searches, but nothing I've searched for has worked.

User avatar
Lord Blade
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am
Reputation: 131

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Lord Blade »

Okay, so I was able to find Gold as a Double value... however I can't actually change the values. If I try they instantly change back.

Tried changing the value at a different screen (wondering if that mattered) and it just crashed the game.

I have no clue how to get values to change.

GreenHouse
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 857
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:25 pm
Reputation: 889

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by GreenHouse »

Everything is pretty much next to each other, and can be changed:
Image
Last edited by GreenHouse on Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lord Blade
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am
Reputation: 131

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Lord Blade »

So... how do you get those values exactly?

Cause if I do a search under Double, I can find two values that will match Gold. But trying to change either does nothing as the value in CE instant resets to what's in game.

GreenHouse
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 857
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:25 pm
Reputation: 889

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by GreenHouse »

Lord Blade wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:35 am
So... how do you get those values exactly?
I did just search the literal value. That's it.
Image
Last edited by GreenHouse on Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lord Blade
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am
Reputation: 131

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Lord Blade »

But I tried that, and like I said, the value just instantly changes back. I can't actually change it.

What version of the game do you have? Does that make a difference?

GreenHouse
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 857
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:25 pm
Reputation: 889

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by GreenHouse »

Lord Blade wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:37 am
What version of the game do you have? Does that make a difference?
v1.6.5, the only one available. And CE version doesn't matter if that's what you're asking.
P.S.: Also, look at the GIF on the previous message.

User avatar
Lord Blade
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am
Reputation: 131

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Lord Blade »

Okay, so it's just the last value on the list then?
Because when I searched for my original value of 12000 and then spent some so I have 7000 left and found values that matched... none of those let me change anything.
But I loaded and just searched for 12000, and selected the last entry (which wasn't one that changed before) and that worked.


Oh, also how do you get that other screen you posted, where you can get the offsets or whatever?

User avatar
Lord Blade
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:52 am
Reputation: 131

Re: Can Someone Teach Me How to Script for Hero's Hour?

Post by Lord Blade »

Would you be able to just put this together as a table?

Also, does movement value for heroes work?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot