How can I circumvent a game crashing when changing a value?

Memory scanning, code injection, debugger internals and other gamemodding related discussion
nolljd
What is cheating?
What is cheating?

How can I circumvent a game crashing when changing a value?

Post by nolljd »

Hello,

I am a complete CE novice -- I've used the program for years to change values in simpler games, but otherwise my knowledge is superficial.

I am trying to edit my players rep on "Descenders" for game pass, but when I do so, the game crashes stating "Unauthorized modifications detected. Closing game."

I know that server sided values cannot be changed, but I don't think this value is server sided. Another cheating website that I shall not name has a trainer for the game that modifies the rep. Why can't I?

I know, there are a ton of CE resources at my finger tips that could surely help, but it's hard to find anything that might actually help. Maybe hacking this game is just too ambitious for someone of my skill set. Does anyone have any advice?

ApeDemon66
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater

Re: How can I circumvent a game crashing when changing a value?

Post by ApeDemon66 »

With a quick glance, it's a Unity game written in C# and runs with Mono. C# can easily be decompiled to code close to the source. The main code for the game can be found in the "Descenders_Data\Managed\Assembly-CSharp.dll" file. You can also see that through Cheat Engine's Mono features and dissect the code, navigate through the classes, and jump to the methods. Something else to note is the code is obfuscated so certain methods and variable names are random characters. A nice tool you could use to decompile the dll and view the code would be "dnSpy".

So your main tools would be Cheat Engine's value scanner, debugger, and Mono features with a separate software for decompiling.