Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Memory scanning, code injection, debugger internals and other gamemodding related discussion
Post Reply
TheVine
Novice Cheater
Novice Cheater
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2021 2:34 pm
Reputation: 0

Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Post by TheVine »

So normally the injection point occurs in something like "GameName.exe + address" and so the injection code looks like

Code: Select all

aobscanmodule(INJECT,Game.exe,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)
I was able to find the AOB I want to change, but it appears to be at an address that isn't associated with "GameName.exe" but just a regular address in memory, not green, just black text memory address. I'm not really sure what that means or how that works, it's a Mono game if that's important, but is there a way to target AOBs like that?

User avatar
Rhark
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 2827
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:27 am
Reputation: 1225

Re: Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Post by Rhark »

TheVine wrote:
Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:56 pm
So normally the injection point occurs in something like "GameName.exe + address" and so the injection code looks like

Code: Select all

aobscanmodule(INJECT,Game.exe,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)
I was able to find the AOB I want to change, but it appears to be at an address that isn't associated with "GameName.exe" but just a regular address in memory, not green, just black text memory address. I'm not really sure what that means or how that works, it's a Mono game if that's important, but is there a way to target AOBs like that?
If it's mono, enabling the Mono Data Collector will show symbols instead of the addresses. But yes, you would need to use

Code: Select all

aobscanregion
instead.

sbryzl
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 4:47 am
Reputation: 90

Re: Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Post by sbryzl »

You can just do this though it will take a long time to activate because of all the memory it has to scan through.

Code: Select all

aobscan(INJECT,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)

User avatar
Glowmoss
Negan
Negan
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:14 pm
Reputation: 208

Re: Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Post by Glowmoss »

TheVine wrote:
Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:56 pm
it's a Mono game if that's important, but is there a way to target AOBs like that?
Like Rhark said for mono games I would recommend enabling mono and using the symbols for an aobscanregion like this

Code: Select all

aobscanregion(cheatname,symbol,symbol+offset,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)
You could also just use the symbol+offset directly or

Code: Select all

define(cheatname,symbol+offset) 
define(bytes,0C 82 F1 02 00 00) 
assert(cheatname,bytes) 
The aobscanregion is the most reliable for working after updates

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users