Page 1 of 1

get a static field from a mono class

Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2023 4:47 pm
by ralfonat
Hi there,

I am trying to get a static field value displayed from the Mono ".NET Info" dialog via Lua.

Image

I have come up with this code:

Code: Select all

function dump(o)
   if type(o) == 'table' then
      local s = '{ '
      for k,v in pairs(o) do
         if type(k) ~= 'number' then k = '"'..k..'"' end
         s = s .. '['..k..'] = ' .. dump(v) .. ','
      end
      return s .. '} '
   else
      return tostring(o)
   end
end

local domainId = mono_enumDomains()[1]
print('domainId = ' .. domainId)
local classId = mono_findClass('', 'CombatManager')
print('classId = ' .. classId)
local methodId = mono_class_findMethod(classId, 'SceneStart')
print('methodId = ' .. methodId)
methodId = mono_findMethod('', 'CombatManager', 'SceneStart')
print('methodId = ' .. methodId)

--print(dump(mono_class_enumFields(classId)))
--print(dump(mono_enumDomains()))
--print()
print(mono_class_getStaticFieldAddress(domainId, classId))
and this is the output

Code: Select all

domainId = 2248894136256 
classId = 2248888102816 
methodId = 2250105680784 
methodId = 2250105680784 
0 
So the mono_class_getStaticFieldAddress call returns 0....

What can I do? Am I on the wrong path?

Many thanks in advance.

Re: get a static field from a mono class

Posted: Sun Jun 04, 2023 8:15 pm
by LeFiXER
ralfonat wrote:
Sun Jun 04, 2023 4:47 pm
Hi there,

I am trying to get a static field value displayed from the Mono ".NET Info" dialog via Lua.

Image

I have come up with this code:

Code: Select all

function dump(o)
   if type(o) == 'table' then
      local s = '{ '
      for k,v in pairs(o) do
         if type(k) ~= 'number' then k = '"'..k..'"' end
         s = s .. '['..k..'] = ' .. dump(v) .. ','
      end
      return s .. '} '
   else
      return tostring(o)
   end
end

local domainId = mono_enumDomains()[1]
print('domainId = ' .. domainId)
local classId = mono_findClass('', 'CombatManager')
print('classId = ' .. classId)
local methodId = mono_class_findMethod(classId, 'SceneStart')
print('methodId = ' .. methodId)
methodId = mono_findMethod('', 'CombatManager', 'SceneStart')
print('methodId = ' .. methodId)

--print(dump(mono_class_enumFields(classId)))
--print(dump(mono_enumDomains()))
--print()
print(mono_class_getStaticFieldAddress(domainId, classId))
and this is the output

Code: Select all

domainId = 2248894136256 
classId = 2248888102816 
methodId = 2250105680784 
methodId = 2250105680784 
0 
So the mono_class_getStaticFieldAddress call returns 0....

What can I do? Am I on the wrong path?

Many thanks in advance.
You should be able to do that with this:

Code: Select all

local function getCombatManager()
		local c = mono_findClass('Assembly-CSharp.dll', 'CombatManager')
		local f = mono_class_enumFields(c, true)
		for i in pairs(f) do
			if f[i].isStatic and f[i].Name == 'instance' then
				local v = mono_class_getStaticFieldValue(c, f[i].field)
				return v
			end
		end
	  end

print(string.format('%X', getCombatManager()))

Re: get a static field from a mono class

Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2023 7:50 pm
by ralfonat
Thank you so much for nudging in the right direction!

So the change that made stuff work was the true param in mono_class_enumFields which is "includeParents". That seems to make the static field appear.

Since your code didnt work, here is the small correction. As the field "name" is case sensitive, this is what made it work. (fields.name instead of fields.Name)

Code: Select all

local classId = mono_findClass('Assembly-CSharp.dll', 'CombatManager')
print(classId)
local fields = mono_class_enumFields(classId, true)
for i in pairs(fields) do
  if fields[i].isStatic and fields[i].name == 'instance' then
    local instance = mono_class_getStaticFieldValue(classId, fields[i].field)
    print(instance)

    local methodId = mono_class_findMethod(classId, 'SceneStart')
    print(methodId)

    mono_invoke_method('Assembly-CSharp.dll', methodId, instance, {})
  end
end
Again thank you so much for the quick help!

Re: get a static field from a mono class

Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2023 9:10 pm
by LeFiXER
ralfonat wrote:
Mon Jun 05, 2023 7:50 pm
Thank you so much for nudging in the right direction!

So the change that made stuff work was the true param in mono_class_enumFields which is "includeParents". That seems to make the static field appear.

Since your code didnt work, here is the small correction. As the field "name" is case sensitive, this is what made it work. (fields.name instead of fields.Name)

Code: Select all

local classId = mono_findClass('Assembly-CSharp.dll', 'CombatManager')
print(classId)
local fields = mono_class_enumFields(classId, true)
for i in pairs(fields) do
  if fields[i].isStatic and fields[i].name == 'instance' then
    local instance = mono_class_getStaticFieldValue(classId, fields[i].field)
    print(instance)

    local methodId = mono_class_findMethod(classId, 'SceneStart')
    print(methodId)

    mono_invoke_method('Assembly-CSharp.dll', methodId, instance, {})
  end
end
Again thank you so much for the quick help!
You're welcome :). Ah yes, my mistake. Force of habit with typing in camelCase :oops: