DOSBox Static Addresses

Section's for general approaches on hacking various options in games. No online-related discussions/posts OR warez!
User avatar
Marc
Table Makers
Table Makers
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:35 pm
Reputation: 377

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Marc »

Many thanks for explaining that, really good to know.
Table works finde, of course - added it to my DOSBox-Template file. :)
Last edited by Marc on Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SunBeam
Administration
Administration
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:16 pm
Reputation: 4287

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by SunBeam »

Like I use to tell people.. before the emulator is started break on VirtualAlloc and start from there.

FitDynamite
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 5:13 am
Reputation: 1

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by FitDynamite »

daninthemix wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:43 pm
Anyone got the base addresses for .74-3 ?
Have been trying to find this too. Couldn't find it anywhere. Ended up finding it myself.

DosBox 0.74-3
Base address: 0193C370

It works for me.

User avatar
mgr.inz.Player
Cheater
Cheater
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 8:41 am
Reputation: 42

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by mgr.inz.Player »

First, you found not a base, you found module offset for multilevel pointer base address.

Anyway, it depends on which memory block game is using for storing some values. 2MB (VideoMemory), 4MB, 16MB.

Usually it is 16MB. Paste this code to addresslist:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<CheatTable>
  <CheatEntries>
    <CheatEntry>
      <ID>0</ID>
      <Description>"Find and set user symbols"</Description>
      <LastState/>
      <VariableType>Auto Assembler Script</VariableType>
      <AssemblerScript>{$Lua}
if syntaxcheck then return end

[ENABLE]
for i,v in ipairs(enumMemoryRegions()) do
  if v.RegionSize==0x1001000 and v.AllocationProtect==4 then
    unregisterSymbol('GameMemoryStart') registerSymbol('GameMemoryStart',v.BaseAddress+0x20)
  end
end

[DISABLE]
unregisterSymbol('GameMemoryStart')
</AssemblerScript>
    </CheatEntry>
    <CheatEntry>
      <ID>1</ID>
      <Description>"GameMemoryStart"</Description>
      <VariableType>Byte</VariableType>
      <Address>GameMemoryStart</Address>
    </CheatEntry>
  </CheatEntries>
</CheatTable>
Attach CE to dosbox, activate "Find and set user symbols", then just use "GameMemoryStart" symbol.

For example there is table for "Cosmo's Cosmic Adventure 1 V1.20"
viewtopic.php?t=412

Health is pointer with last offset 1FCFC.
With "GameMemoryStart" symbol you can just use GameMemoryStart+1FCFC. It is universal, whatever DOSBOX version you use, it should work.
(at least all DOSBox versions up to this date)


If you really want to use pointers than symbols - you can do pointer scan with max level 1 ( and max offset 128 to speedup scanning even more)
In previous page I showed how to do this for pointers for VideoMemory, you can do the same for for 16MB and 4MB memory blocks.
Right click "GameMemoryStart" and choose "pointer scan for this address", max level 1, like in this screenshot:
(of course you will have different address)
Image

That way, after few pointer rescans, I found pointers to GameMemoryStart (the 16MB memory block):
["DOSBox.exe"+0193C370]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0074D728]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0074D6D4]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0074D6D0]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0034DACC]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0034DA94]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0034D728]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0034D6D4]+0
["DOSBox.exe"+0034D6D0]+0


As you see, there's also a pointer with base address: DOSBox.exe+0193C370 (modulename+moduleoffset)
And moduleoffset is the same as yours.

FitDynamite
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 5:13 am
Reputation: 1

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by FitDynamite »

Wow player really know this stuff. Nice post!

Seriously, thanks for your reply. I am new to CE. While I don't really understand 100% what you were trying to say, I definitely am learning a thing or two from your post here.

I was (a lousy) DOS programmer back like 25 years ago. I still remembered video memory starts at 0xa000 address if i'm not mistaken. Text mode starts at 0xb800 or something like that. So I'm a bit confused when you refers to video memory at 2MB, but then again it was a really, really, really long time ago and I don't do programming anymore.

Let me do some serious reading, and hope you don't mind if i have a question or two.

User avatar
mgr.inz.Player
Cheater
Cheater
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 8:41 am
Reputation: 42

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by mgr.inz.Player »

I got a PC when Windows Me was released. Before that I had only C64 :) I didn't do much with programming in DOS - simple tasks in Turbo Pascal 7 (with graph library) and some very basic executable modifications with Hiew 6.50. To sum this up - DOS is not my thing.

GameMemoryStart, VideoMemory, GameOtherMemoryStart those are just names for memory regions allocated by DOSBox. Those names were the first thing which came to my mind.

Code: Select all

So I'm a bit confused when you refers to video memory at 2MB
2MB allocated by DOSBox.

daninthemix
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
Reputation: 79

DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by daninthemix »

Okay, this table works on DOSBox if the memsize value is set to 16MB or above.

1) Activate 'find and set symbols', wait until 'GameMemoryStart' gets populated.

2) Find your cheat address

3) Subtract the address of GameMemoryStart from your cheat address, then manually add the cheat value as GameMemoryStart+[offset you calculated in step 2]
Attachments
DOSBOX.CT
(899 Bytes) Downloaded 589 times
Last edited by daninthemix on Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:00 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Curley16
Noobzor
Noobzor
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 7:52 pm
Reputation: 7

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Curley16 »

I don't have the baseaddress, but you can use an another DOX Box version like v0.73 and drag+drop the .EXE file to the desktop icon and your game will load the game from v0.73. Then try Cheat Engine with base 0x01D3FD40.

odd144
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2023 10:59 am
Reputation: 0

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by odd144 »

I am trying to use cheat engine with Dos Box, this forum is all very confusing to a newb, why is the Youtube video private, think that would have helped me along?

Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users