We're giving away Borderlands 3 gift key. Click here!

DOSBox Static Addresses

Section's for general approaches on hacking various options in games. No online-related discussions/posts OR warez!
Marc
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:35 pm
Reputation: 28

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Marc » Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:12 am

Try 0x1D26C0C (no guarantee here, but should work ^^)

have fun,
Marc

daninthemix
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
Reputation: 10

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by daninthemix » Sun Apr 07, 2019 1:48 pm

Marc wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:12 am
Try 0x1D26C0C (no guarantee here, but should work ^^)

have fun,
Marc
No that's not working. I get a pointer to 12B33020, but (for example) lives are stored in 11C95F72 which is earlier than your base address.

User avatar
Dread_Pony_Roberts
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 am
Reputation: 17

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Dread_Pony_Roberts » Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:02 pm

Here is a base I've found, tested it on two games (Bio Menace and Masters of Orion classic).

0x1D4A380

If this code doesn't work, I have a solution. I've found that the easiest way to find the base is to look for a pointer manually (so without pointer scanning) and pick the lowest or so static address you find on the list. It will be the largest number that isn't part of the debugger (so no "wow" addresses).

I hope this helps.

daninthemix
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
Reputation: 10

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by daninthemix » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:05 pm

Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:02 pm
Here is a base I've found, tested it on two games (Bio Menace and Masters of Orion classic).

0x1D4A380

If this code doesn't work, I have a solution. I've found that the easiest way to find the base is to look for a pointer manually (so without pointer scanning) and pick the lowest or so static address you find on the list. It will be the largest number that isn't part of the debugger (so no "wow" addresses).

I hope this helps.
Aweseome, thankyou.

I've tested and can confirm that the base address for 0.74.2.1 is 0x1D4A380

Marc
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:35 pm
Reputation: 28

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Marc » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:07 pm

daninthemix wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 1:48 pm
No that's not working. I get a pointer to 12B33020, but (for example) lives are stored in 11C95F72 which is earlier than your base address.
Ooops. My bad. I tried a Dosbox 74.2-1 game recently, had no address and tried the method from erfg12: load it in IDA and look for the Address of the DST block, got this address. So I made something wrong, but don't know what. At least this explains why I had problems with my game :lol:

Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:02 pm
Here is a base I've found, tested it on two games (Bio Menace and Masters of Orion classic).
0x1D4A380
Great, thanks for sharing.

User avatar
Dread_Pony_Roberts
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 am
Reputation: 17

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Dread_Pony_Roberts » Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:03 pm

I'm glad I could help.

It seems GOG is updating their DOSBox so they can use their new cloud saving on DOS games, I would check all your cheats for GOG DOS games because of it. I personally get around it because I use DOSBox Game Launcher for all my DOS games so the versions are never updated unless I want them to.

daninthemix
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
Reputation: 10

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by daninthemix » Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:37 am

Can anyone advise the best way to find addresses that change every level? I'm talking about Syndicate Wars here (I posted a paid cheat request for it a while back) - I found all the pointers for the relevant values, they work every time I run the game, but only on the first level.

What would be a good approach to finding those values for every level? AOBscan? Do I need to go to a deeper level with my pointers?

Marc
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:35 pm
Reputation: 28

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Marc » Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:34 pm

daninthemix wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:37 am
What would be a good approach to finding those values for every level? AOBscan? Do I need to go to a deeper level with my pointers?
My suggestion is to either scan for a deeper pointer level or you should try to find some code which uses the addresses. Then make a code injection to copy the correct address into your own variable.

daninthemix
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 6:31 pm
Reputation: 10

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by daninthemix » Sun May 12, 2019 11:32 am

OK now I'm confused again. Using the current DOSBox from dosbox.com, version 0.74-2, modified date 30/08/2018 13:33.

If I manually add 0x01D1ABFC I get a pointer to 1630A020.

If I find a temp value (missiles), it's before that pointer, at 1261AC4C.

What do I do?

Warrax
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 9:12 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Warrax » Tue May 21, 2019 9:26 pm

daninthemix wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:34 am
Anyone have the base address for DosBox 0.74.2.1?
I got 0x01D26C0C in Ida.

Problem is, I seem to be finding negative offsets when I search for the values and then they don't stay in the same place when I re-open the game. I am specifically using that version of DOSBox bundled as part of a GoG install of Master of Magic, to be specific.

So I find the address for DST with Ida, and then use that as my base pointer. Then in game I find what I need (in my case, Gold and Mana) and set up something that works while I have the game open. But as soon as I reopen the game, it falls apart. The offset has changed, so things are wrong when I reopen the table. I figure I must be doing something wrong either when I'm trying to add the VMEM base pointer or when I'm attempting to make the address relative to that pointer.

Any thoughts?

Marc
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:35 pm
Reputation: 28

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Marc » Wed May 22, 2019 2:34 pm

Hmm no exact idea right out of the box. A negative offset should definitively not happen at all.

Genereal Workflow to create the entrys:
  • add the VMEM Pointer
  • find the current address of whatever you want to cheat in your game
  • open up the windows calculator, set it to "programmer"
  • copy the address of your value via clipboard into the calculator
  • press minus on the calculator
  • copy the address where the VMEM points to into clipboard
  • paste the address into the calculator and press enter
  • copy the result (the difference of the two addresses) into the clipboard
  • add a new manual entry, as address enter "+" and paste the result from the calculator in
  • use drag&drop to attach your manual entry indented below the VMEM pointer
  • if all went right, the manuel entry now points to the same address as the result from your memory scan
have fun,
Marc

bwah
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:18 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by bwah » Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:22 pm

When scanning dosbox with Cheat Engine, how do you limit the search area to MS-DOS conventional memory? How do you determine the conventional memory area?

User avatar
ludo1800
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:37 pm
Reputation: 1

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by ludo1800 » Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:43 pm

daninthemix wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:34 am
Anyone have the base address for DosBox 0.74.2.1?
As showed in the tuto video, with IDA, I found "1d26c0c".

                                                                                      ___________________


I try to found some values on Albion (1995) from GoG, wich is based on DosBox 0.74.2.1 apparently...

But, there is an issue, when I restart the game, the value are not in the same place, even with "pointers"...
Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:03 pm
It seems GOG is updating their DOSBox so they can use their new cloud saving on DOS games
Hmmmm, is that why ?
Dread_Pony_Roberts wrote:
Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:03 pm
I personally get around it because I use DOSBox Game Launcher for all my DOS games so the versions are never updated unless I want them to.
So, you use a "personnal" version of DOSBox to launch games from GoG, if I understand correctly...
Can you be a little bit more specific, please ?

User avatar
Dread_Pony_Roberts
Expert Cheater
Expert Cheater
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:46 am
Reputation: 17

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by Dread_Pony_Roberts » Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:21 pm

I should have clarified. DOSBox Game Launcher isn't a special version of DOSBox, it is just a launcher that allows you to more easily create configs and shortcuts for DOS games. The same can be accomplished by manually creating shortcuts that point to the DOSBox.exe itself and a config as shown in this example ("C:\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe" -conf "..\dosbox.conf"). You can then put the commands to launch the game in the config's "autoexec" section.

User avatar
ludo1800
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2019 3:37 pm
Reputation: 1

Re: DOSBox Static Addresses

Post by ludo1800 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 11:13 am

Okay, so, if I get it right :
You use the standard version of Dosbox as everybody else, with configuration files made by yourself
and not those released with the GoG version of the game.

But GoG uses their own personal modified version of DosBox ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users