Dealing with EAC in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Post here (make sure thread doesn't exist first) any type of tutorials: text, images, videos or oriented discussions on specific games. No online-related discussions/posts OR warez!
Post Reply
User avatar
SunBeam
Administration
Administration
Posts: 2606
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:16 pm
Reputation: 1042

Dealing with EAC in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Post by SunBeam » Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:15 am

BACKGROUND
============

I've recently been contacted via Discord regarding this game and how trying every possible solution mentioned here didn't work out for a particular person. I've then decided to give it a go, since he was willing to allow a remote session and indeed, couldn't get the game to run with both the "-eac_launcher" command-line in both Steam/UPlay clients and the detoured "EasyAntiCheat_x64.dll". Simply put, his Windows 10 recent update conflicted in some weird way with the EAC launcher (rungame.exe), each run resulting in a "not found" error.

Several days passed, the guy rolled back his Windows build and got the stuff to work. So it was all good for him, he could play the game with the WeMod trainer and went his merry way.

Then the CH bullshit started all over, derived from the MK11 dispute, that I remembered about this: link. It's a nice topic to read.

Then I remembered how STN was basically dragged into my disputes with Caliber with every chance he got, regarding Watchdogs and how "they" discovered the "-eac_launcher" command-line which disabled EAC and allowed users to play the single-player part of the game with no worries.

The reason for all of that story above is to respond to a question or future statement (excerpt from a recent post from Caliber):

Image

I think I read it like this: "maybe you got the inspiration from my posts in those links". Well, just so you don't fucking dare again say that retarded shit, here goes. The next part is dedicated to you, I got the inspiration from fuck-town and it worked just dandy.

SCOPE
======

Run Wildlands with no command line or let the game think EAC was loaded, so that is uses only the detoured EasyAntiCheat_x64.dll and game opens successfully, regardless of the x64 OS you've installed, regardless of Windows Update.. and regardless of CH bitching over some command line they didn't discover this time around :) Mainly last part. I'll refer this post in the future with every chance I get, if CH decides to use this method against EAC. See how it feels being trashed around. Feels so good to create precedents.

TOOLS
======
  • x64dbg for x86 and x64
  • GRW.exe
  • RE skills - knowing WTF you're after and doing




CONCLUSIONS
============
  • I may not be the inventor or discoverer of this command, yet I saw nowhere posted anything about it for Wildlands, Watchdogs and Far Cry 5; having said that, I can say I am now the first to talk about -eac-nop-loaded for these titles
  • anything derived from what you've seen in this video, including patching EAC launcher (rungame.exe or whateverthefuck.exe) in the future is still going to be considered the same method - just so I don't hear "can you show me how is this remotely similar to yours?" (you know what I mean)
  • if you ignore my smug attitude and have an ounce of decency, you'd credit this where due
BR,
Sun

CaliberCHResponder
Noobzor
Noobzor
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:15 pm
Reputation: 5

Re: Dealing with EAC in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Post by CaliberCHResponder » Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:35 pm

This is stupid.. it's literally embedded in almost all EAC games within the .dll's.

"-eac-nop-loaded" or whatever other similar/particular param that EAC/the game might read has been around a long time. It's located in the same spot in the EasyAntiCheat_x64.dll in the same folder (usually) as the game .exe


during the createremotethread stuff, there is a call to check for the console commands. Each game I go and look what is available. This is usually the command available.

Also, I think I first saw this actually from a posting in Vermintide 2 forums way back when you could launch the game without EAC using this method during the betas.

Here, take a look at the current spot in that game:

https://ibb.co/0GKwh0V

Every EAC game, you can do this same exercise to see what might be available and then note the params that are able to be used. You can look at Watchdogs eac .dll and see the params there.

You are blowing a lot of time only to be incorrect with your assumptions and statements. I've made countless launchers for EAC games using one or the other or whatever command that the particular game eac.dll is allowing, if it allows at all. You trace this from the CreateRemoteThread section that most EAC games have in the main .exe

The truth is that nobody even knew this sort of stuff was possible until it was discovered during the original/first game we came across using EAC (Watchdogs). Truth be told, it was a user in our forums who PM me about the possibility as he had heard some other games were able to be run without EAC via console commands. So the task THEN was to trace the launching of the games and then see if such console existed. AND oddly enough, it was Chris/PWiz who said we should share the info, so we did.

The problem is that not all EAC games use the same 1) driver 2) eac .dll's and 3) eac server techniques, and as you know some games check for driver heartbeat, check for server connection through the driver and/or the server.dll, and other stuff. NOW, when people make custom .dlls and etc to mimic server actions and etc, you are starting a whole new ballgame.. I mean, speaking of Vermintide 2, I think this is a title that deserves further exploration by a team of people to blow up this EAC bullshit in ring-3 once and for all. You are always looking for a 'challenge', well there you go, but whatever.

As I stated before, if I can LAUNCH A GAME without modifying the DRM of the game, then we will modify files that a user has on their harddrive if it's the simplest way to get around anti tamper or anti-debugger/anti-tools/anti-cheats. They aren't bypassing any DRM directly (i.e. the game STILL requires STEAM/UPLAY/whatever to run). At the time of FarCry 5 and etc, I hadn't and haven't had time to trace everything in each .dll to know what was being used for what. Unlike you with your nebulous name, we have actual names, and actual tax ID numbers, and actual address where we can be contacted and sued for stuff. So it pays to know if you are modifying anything for sure that may be misconstrued as cracking or breaking DRM. The fact is, that if the developers contact us, then we will remove our trainer if they can demonstrate our trainer is harming them, or harming the DRM of the game.

In the end, you hate us, and are posting over and over trying to damage us, trying to belittle my work. That's why 2/3 of your posts the last month are useless anti CH and anti Caliber tirades. You've removed perfectly good postings by me that were being used and appreciated by the members because you hate CH. All of this is a singular goal by one admin here to smear us and biasedly present things and then, laughably, remove/destroy/rewrite my responses.

Look, I don't know how many times I have had to say it. YOU DO A GREAT JOB REVERSING AND HAVE A KNACK FOR EXPLAINING YOUR PROCESS HERE. NEITHER YOU NOR I ARE THE BEST IN THE WORLD AT THIS. YOUVE DONE STUFF AHEAD OF OTHER PEOPLE OR UNIQUELY WITH SOME TITLES. I don't see why there needs to be a 'war' or some sort of dick contest here. I don't have time for that, and our resources are actually best used working on things as a team fashion or at least as allies against common problems/foes rather than wasting hours on these anti CH screeds. It doesn't even matter what I write back, you reject it, and the users here that would respond are completely synchophants. When people take the time to post content here and useful stuff, you are deleting it and destroying it if you don't like the person or the site they worked at. This is all YOU, not some other admin here.

Whatever man. Create and live in whatever universe you want here. I mean, you are the admin, so what can I do about it. I'd rather get along here, contribute, and try to exist side by side other direct competitors here, which I think we are all doing to an extend, but a single admin here who is angry that he got banned due to his own actions on the site is still holding on to grudges. It's not like you don't have access to CH, obviously. I don't have the ability to get you back in, sorry. I am but one vote out of 3 for that sort of thing.

best,
Cal

CaliberCHResponder
Noobzor
Noobzor
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:15 pm
Reputation: 5

Re: Dealing with EAC in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Post by CaliberCHResponder » Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:38 pm

Also:

"The reason for all of that story above is to respond to a question or future statement (excerpt from a recent post from Caliber):"

this is another example of getting inspiration from other people's work or postings or seeing what they did in the past.

We all do this, or have 'a-ha!' moments, either from brute trial and error, or some other person will lead the way with something.

best,
Cal

CaliberCHResponder
Noobzor
Noobzor
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:15 pm
Reputation: 5

Re: Dealing with EAC in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Post by CaliberCHResponder » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:28 pm

SunBeam wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:15 am
CONCLUSIONS
============
  • I may not be the inventor or discoverer of this command, yet I saw nowhere posted anything about it for Wildlands, Watchdogs and Far Cry 5; having said that, I can say I am now the first to talk about -eac-nop-loaded for these titles
  • anything derived from what you've seen in this video, including patching EAC launcher (rungame.exe or whateverthefuck.exe) in the future is still going to be considered the same method - just so I don't hear "can you show me how is this remotely similar to yours?" (you know what I mean)
I'm not sure what you are getting at here, or if that entire posting is/was facetious..

There's probably 12 or more games using EAC where I had to make launchers for them, some of them using params, including that specific param you mention in some cases.

I can't think of them all, but this year alone there are:
Battlefleet Gothic Armada II
Jump Force
Trials Rising
Super Dragon Ball Heroes World Mission

maybe more...

EDIT: I enjoyed your video. I think people can gain a lot, especially seeing how to use the tools and how to trace things quickly.

best,
Cal

User avatar
SunBeam
Administration
Administration
Posts: 2606
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:16 pm
Reputation: 1042

Re: Dealing with EAC in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Wildlands

Post by SunBeam » Wed Jul 10, 2019 4:16 pm

CaliberCHResponder wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:28 pm
I'm not sure what you are getting at here, or if that entire posting is/was facetious..
"for these titles" :) I was adamant to clearly state I've not found jack shit online about FC5 and Wildlands, either of them, and that specific command-line. No one actually mentions or hints at using it or even trying it (why, cuz "-eac_launcher" works for 99%). Considering the amount of people having had problems with just "-eac_laucher" itself, I digged in a bit deeper to find how I can entirely get rid of EAC. Then I stumbled across that command and stopped there. I may pursue total removal in the nearby future ;) Kinda irks me not doing it now that I mention it, lol.

I understand it won't mean jack shit to people, that it's about some old game, that bla bla - it's important to me to succeed in a challenge I set out for myself, especially since it's about RE. Especially since I'm no quitter. I think you can already see that shit about me even from this CH-SunBeam war we're having :D

That it may or not help others in the future battling EAC in single-player games.. that.. I dunno.

Anyway, the reason for the video was showing how the logic process works, how you get from something known or an idea to some means of success. And not demonstrating I'm best, better or that this is the only way to do it.

Glad you liked it ;)

BR,
Sun

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users