Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Anything Cheat Engine related, bugs, suggestions, helping others, etc..
Post Reply
gandalfxviv
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 4:29 am
Reputation: 0

Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Post by gandalfxviv » Mon May 28, 2018 5:12 am

I downloaded RPCS3 the other day and played Disagaea D2--for about 10 hours so far. It runs fine. I downloaded a cheat table on this forum and tried some of the cheats on it and every time I try to change a value the game hangs. I tried searching for addresses myself and successfully found the same address as was in the table I downloaded (for money) and again the game hung when I tried to change the value.



I tried the same with Disgaea 4 (also running on RPCS3) and got the same result. Does anyone have suggestions? Am I doing something wrong? It seems that other people have had success with using Cheat Engine on RPCS3, but I haven't been able to get any to work without making the game hang.

User avatar
seikur0
Code Alchemist
Code Alchemist
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:48 am
Reputation: 193

Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Post by seikur0 » Mon May 28, 2018 7:04 pm

That's the case for a new build of it, they apparently added memory protection that as a side effect prevents you from editing stuff with cheat engine. You can still edit values with the memory editor directly, though it's a little bit annoying.

gandalfxviv
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 4:29 am
Reputation: 0

Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Post by gandalfxviv » Mon May 28, 2018 7:18 pm

[QUOTE="seikur0, post: 47494, member: 8101"]That's the case for a new build of it, they apparently added memory protection that as a side effect prevents you from editing stuff with cheat engine. You can still edit values with the memory editor directly, though it's a little bit annoying.[/QUOTE]

Yeah I figured the last part out after playing with it for a while. I noticed if I opened the memory browser and edited the values in there it was no problem. As you said, it's annoying, but at least it's something. Didn't realize it was because of RPCS3 update. Although, I only downloaded the emulator a few days ago, so I never had the earlier version that didn't have memory protection. I'm not very tech savvy. I don't even know what memory protection is. Anyway. Thanks.

User avatar
seikur0
Code Alchemist
Code Alchemist
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 10:48 am
Reputation: 193

Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Post by seikur0 » Mon May 28, 2018 7:40 pm

They changed that recently and probably nobody even noticed this effect on cheat engine. Version [URL='https://ci.appveyor.com/project/rpcs3/rpcs3/build/0.0.5-6831/artifacts']0.0.5-6831[/URL] from 5 days ago should be the last version where you can edit memory normally without invalidating it. I think it has an effect on scans as well and prevents you from finding stuff :/

gandalfxviv
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 4:29 am
Reputation: 0

Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Post by gandalfxviv » Mon May 28, 2018 10:36 pm

[QUOTE="seikur0, post: 47499, member: 8101"]They changed that recently and probably nobody even noticed this effect on cheat engine. Version [URL='https://ci.appveyor.com/project/rpcs3/rpcs3/build/0.0.5-6831/artifacts']0.0.5-6831[/URL] from 5 days ago should be the last version where you can edit memory normally without invalidating it. I think it has an effect on scans as well and prevents you from finding stuff :/[/QUOTE]

Hmm. I just downloaded that version and still had the same issue. :(

You're right about the scans. I thought it was working earlier, but then I just tried again and it's not finding stuff correctly.

Eric
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:01 pm
Reputation: 15

Cheat Engine Crashes RPCS3

Post by Eric » Thu May 31, 2018 8:47 pm

You may want to try Beta 3 of CE 6.8 (Link in the chat under bug reports) It should have fixed the editing issue. (Memory scanning works just fine, just don't forget to enable mem_mapped in scan settings if you reset the settings)
Last edited by Eric on Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users