Installation Hiccoughs

Anything Cheat Engine related, bugs, suggestions, helping others, etc..
Post Reply
WhiteMage
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Installation Hiccoughs

Post by WhiteMage » Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:30 pm

So, since CheatEngine suggested that I upgrade to 6.6 (currently using 6.5), I've tried to install the newest version.

I repeatedly run into the same two problems:
- Avira blocks the program altogether (but that is solvable)
- The system throws up an error message saying there are not enough ressources to run the program.

That second problem leaves me a little stumped, since my computer is rather performant. So, what could the issue be?

Eric
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:01 pm
Reputation: 9

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by Eric » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:18 pm

i'd go with uninstalling avira and REBOOT (important) and see if that fixes it.

besides that, do you get the error when you start ce, or when you do a scan ?

WhiteMage
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by WhiteMage » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:49 pm

I get the error as soon as I try to run the installation. So I don't even get any further than that. I already have 6.5 installed, with which I didn't have problems like that.

Eric
Hall of Famer
Hall of Famer
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:01 pm
Reputation: 9

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by Eric » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:27 pm

different versions different signatures.
perhaps it doesn't like 6.6 because it gives win 10 apps read/execute access to the install folder which 6.5 does not. (it's so veh and speedhack wirk on those as well)

either way, 'something' is interfering with the proper usage of cheat engine. (that reboot is really important, can't stretch that enough)

Schnitzelmaker
Cheater
Cheater
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:18 pm
Reputation: 7

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by Schnitzelmaker » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:10 pm

The installer has ads inside which are blocked by anti-virus programs by default. Use the zip package (non-installer Version) instead and unpack.

I really dont like installers with random software/ads. One time there was one inside which tried to hijack my computer. Lucky firewall blocked it and i could remove it the hard way from my system :(

CheroshSeiphar
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:48 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by CheroshSeiphar » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:10 pm

Stupid question, where do I get the zip version from? I only seem to find the .exe version.

User avatar
++METHOS
Administration
Administration
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:02 pm
Reputation: 16

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by ++METHOS » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:19 pm

CheroshSeiphar wrote:
Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:10 pm
Stupid question, where do I get the zip version from? I only seem to find the .exe version.
-On the download page:
For those that want to have Cheat engine without automated installer and installCore recommendation during installation, click here (Please note that you need to clear your registry manually if you ran a previous version of CE and make sure that the folder CE is extracted to is writable. Also, in windows 10 make sure you add execute access rights to the folder for the win10 app user account)

CheroshSeiphar
What is cheating?
What is cheating?
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:48 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: Installation Hiccoughs

Post by CheroshSeiphar » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:06 am

Thanks very much. :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users