Page 1 of 1

Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:56 pm
by TheVine
So normally the injection point occurs in something like "GameName.exe + address" and so the injection code looks like

Code: Select all

aobscanmodule(INJECT,Game.exe,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)
I was able to find the AOB I want to change, but it appears to be at an address that isn't associated with "GameName.exe" but just a regular address in memory, not green, just black text memory address. I'm not really sure what that means or how that works, it's a Mono game if that's important, but is there a way to target AOBs like that?

Re: Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 4:02 pm
by Rhark
TheVine wrote:
Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:56 pm
So normally the injection point occurs in something like "GameName.exe + address" and so the injection code looks like

Code: Select all

aobscanmodule(INJECT,Game.exe,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)
I was able to find the AOB I want to change, but it appears to be at an address that isn't associated with "GameName.exe" but just a regular address in memory, not green, just black text memory address. I'm not really sure what that means or how that works, it's a Mono game if that's important, but is there a way to target AOBs like that?
If it's mono, enabling the Mono Data Collector will show symbols instead of the addresses. But yes, you would need to use

Code: Select all

aobscanregion
instead.

Re: Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 5:47 pm
by sbryzl
You can just do this though it will take a long time to activate because of all the memory it has to scan through.

Code: Select all

aobscan(INJECT,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)

Re: Trying to do an AOB hack but the relevant code isn't in the game?

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2022 7:09 pm
by Glowmoss
TheVine wrote:
Mon Jun 20, 2022 3:56 pm
it's a Mono game if that's important, but is there a way to target AOBs like that?
Like Rhark said for mono games I would recommend enabling mono and using the symbols for an aobscanregion like this

Code: Select all

aobscanregion(cheatname,symbol,symbol+offset,0C 82 F1 02 00 00)
You could also just use the symbol+offset directly or

Code: Select all

define(cheatname,symbol+offset) 
define(bytes,0C 82 F1 02 00 00) 
assert(cheatname,bytes) 
The aobscanregion is the most reliable for working after updates